Make your own free website on

Maari Ma Health Aboriginal Corporation

  Maari Ma Health
 Home Page
  Maari Ma Peak Health Council   Map Of Our Region   Board Of Directors   Contact Us  

Profiles of our Board of Directors

DES JONES is from Wentworth. Des is a Regional Councilor of the Murdi Paaki Regional Council, Chairperson Namatjira Regional Sporting Association, Chairperson Murdi Paaki CDEP portfolio, Board member Murdi Paaki Regional Housing Corporation, & member of the Community Crime Committee at Dareton & a newly elected Director of the NSW Aboriginal Housing Office. Des has strong interest in Aboriginal Economic Development, revival of Aboriginal Culture, Language Maintenance and Sites Protection.

Des likes to meet and socialise with people.

Maureen O’DONNELL is from Broken Hill. Maureen is from a family of 9, she is a grandmother to 42 children and great grandmother to 4 children. Maureen has worked in Aboriginal Affairs tirelessly campaigning strongly for equality. Maureen is a member of the Western Aboriginal Legal Service where she was the chairperson for 10 years, Chairperson of Broken Hill LALC. Maureen is currently employed as a Joint Management Coordinator at Mutawintji National Parks and Wildlife Service.

GLORIA KING is from Wilcannia. Gloria has retired as an Aboriginal teacher from the Mission School in Wilcannia after 30 years of service. Gloria is currently a board member of the Far West Area Health Service, member of Wilcannia LALC, member of Wilcannia Community Working Party, Women’s Safe House and Bakandji Elders Council. Gloria is also Chairperson of the Wilcannia local A.E.C.G. she encourages children and parents participation in education opportunities that are readily available. Gloria is concerned to the health status of her people today and encourages effective education processes of better health care to Aboriginal people of the Far West.

WILLY PHILP is from Menindee.  Willy is a member of the Menindee Health Advisory Council, Menindee Lakes Advisory Committee, Tandou Food & Fibre Advisory Committee, and a Ngyiiampa Tribal Representative for the Willandra Lakes World Heritage Committee. Willy is heavily involved in Cultural and Heritage matters in the Menindee district.

FAY JOHNSTONE is from Ivanhoe. Fay has been employed for 20 years as an Aboriginal Education Assistant with the Department of School Education and is based at the Ivanhoe Central School. Fay is also a member of Ivanhoe Aboriginal Corporation, Chairperson of the Ivanhoe LALC, member of the Ivanhoe Health Advisory Council and Ivanhoe Youth Issues Group and recently nominated as a Regional Board Member of Unihope for the Uniting Church.

Fay is a past Director of the Western Aboriginal Legal Service.


GLORIA MURRAY is from Balranald. Gloria is currently a member of the local ASSPA committee and the Balranald Health Advisory Committee. Gloria undertakes various community development consultation roles as a community member and is a strong advocate in supporting Aboriginal people involved in the legal system. Gloria is also a strong campaigner in lobbying government agencies in providing suitable, appropriate and affordable accommodation for Aboriginal people.


Back Top